Invited Experts

Speakers and panelists (go here for professional profiles of the experts):


Merry Buckley, Communications and Marketing Director at Baker Institute for Animal Health (Cornell)

Lauren Chambliss, Communications Director for the Atkinson Center for a Sustainable Future (Cornell)

Itai Cohen, Professor of Physics and Science Communicator at Cornell University

Ryan Coots, PhD Candidate in Nutritional Sciences, writer for the American Society for Nutrition blog and participant of AIMBE’s Public Policy Institute

Alexis Erwin, AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow, expert in natural resources, renewable energy and sustainable development

Diana Friedman, Director of Communications at New York Academy of Science

Sylvester James Gates, Jr., John S. Toll Professor of Physics at the University of Maryland, Director of the String and Particle Theory Center, U.S. President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology

Linda B. Glaser, Writer and Publicist at Cornell University College of Arts & Sciences

Amy McDermott, Editor-in-chief of Hawkmoth magazine

Luis Quevedo, Director and Anchor on NTN24 TV channel, journalist and freelance contributor to El Mundo newspaper

Yaihara Fortis Santiago, Science Alliance Director at The New York Academy of Sciences

Chris Schaffer, Associate Professor in Biomedical Engineering at Cornell University and science policy advisor for Representative Edward Markey in the United States Congress

Kara Verno, Program supervisor at the Rochester museum & science center

Hannah Smith Walker, Digital Manager and Multimedia Producer at Cornell Alliance for Science

Mindy Weisberger, Senior Writer at Live Science, AMNH